Advice for upcoming 5k
Featuring TheRunZone?s resident coach Tinman. All participants are welcome to post and reply to topics in this section whether you?re looking for advice, or sharing your own coaching experience.

1 post   •   Page 1 of 1
Cristian Moreno

Advice for upcoming 5k

by Cristian Moreno » Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:42 pm

Hello, Tinman and others,
First off, I can't thank you enough Tinman for sharing your philosophy with the community and giving the opportunity to allow everyone to learn. Ever since I found out about this site, I have been reading articles daily and gathering information. I'm actually doing more reading on this site than my Organic textbook (I'm currently majoring in Biology) haha! I applied your philosophy to my training mid-December. I ran a 5k race on 12/16/17 with a time of 17:51 (My pr is 16:46 from high school but I took a year off and started training again in August 2017 for my college cross country team). Since the race, that is when I applied Tinmans philosophy. One week consisted of 5-6 CV intervals with 200m jogs + 4x200m w/200m jog at mile pace, Tinman Tempo over hills or Tinman Tempo + reps of hills sprints + quick striders, and a long run over hills. Following week, I would do CV intervals plus 200s, stamina intervals so I did mile repeats at Tempo pace w/ a minute rest plus striders, and a long run that consisted the last 4 miles or so down to tempo effort over rolling hills. I slowed down my easy runs and I have a lot of energy when it comes to my workouts and I don't feel beat up like used too. I'm currently at 62-66 mpw. My goal race is in the middle of April. I did a 3k time trial about two weeks ago and I pr'd which wasn't my intention at all! I ran 9:31 so the avg is 3:10 per k and my pr was a 9:38 from high school. I felt good and went through the first 1k in 3:09 and rolled right through without a kick. I used tinmans calculator to get my pace so of course, my CV pace is faster. I was doing the intervals at 3:40-3:43