Looking for Advice/Feedback

Featuring TheRunZone?s resident coach Tinman. All participants are welcome to post and reply to topics in this section whether you?re looking for advice, or sharing your own coaching experience.

Moderators: Moderator, Global Moderator

brian.bento

Looking for Advice/Feedback

Post by brian.bento » Thu Apr 19, 2012 1:27 pm

I have been running for roughly 2 years and have worked my way from completing the 5k to the marathon. I am 30 years old and never ran prior to this (I dropped 150 lbs in the process as well so my times came down really fast from that). My 5K PR has dropped from 39:00 to 29:00 to 19:29 (September last year). My debut marathon was 3:17:02 but I bonked hard at mile 23 and was on pace for 3:10:00 before that.

I have been loosely following some of the Lydiard training paradigm and I am coming off of a 10 week base building at 90+ mpw with the majority of my easy 10 mile runs @ 7:05-7:30, 6x100m strides twice a week, twice weekly 10mile runs @ marathon pace around 6:50 and 20 mile long runs @ 7:05-7:30.  I have moved onto aerobic endurance/an aerobic training. I know I am not really supposed to race right out of base, but I ran 18:45 in a 5K last week with splits of 6:18, 5:58, 5:53 in a very congested race (6,000+ people).

My biggest concern is that I feel my 5k time is really slow given the volume of miles I can run at the given pace. Many people I assume would say I have absolutely no natural talent for running. I see a ton of people with sub-17 PRs that run 100 mpw and wonder what I am doing wrong. I am guessing most of them ran track in HS/College so have more speed work under their belt. Do I just need to hammer intervals for the next few months? Or am I doing something else wrong?

My most recent track workouts were:

5 x 800m w/ 800m rest - 2:54,2:45,2:53,2:54,2:52
10 x 400m w/ 400m rest - 1:22,1:21,1:21,1:22,1:21,1:22,1:22,1:22,1:24,1:23
6 x 800m w/ 800m rest - 2:57,2:56,2:55,2:55,2:56,2:53